Welcome to the ISCB Community News Blog

This blog collects news, announcements or other information which could be of interest to our ISCB members. We are a group ISCB members who volunteer to populate this blog on a regular basis. In case you want to become an "ISCB-News Reporter" yourself, let us know: contact ISCB
Don't repost copyrighted content! The guidelines are:
- Include a link to the source page
- Include a short summary about the article. You can quote up to ONE paragraph from the original story, but not more
- Don't repost an entire articles originating from another source
- Never post content without attribution — always include the source

To post a news, please use this form.

Monday, March 15, 2010

The John von Neumann Days and The Genome and the Computational Sciences: The Next Paradigms Symposium at Brown University May 3-7, 2010

Brown University, the Center for Computational Molecular Biology (CCMB), and the Department of Computer Science present the first in the John von Neumann Distinguished Lecture Series and the second in the symposium series "The Genome and the Computational Sciences: The Next Paradigms". This event will bring together influential entrepreneurs, leaders, and visionaries from academia and industry who will build the next paradigms in genomics and biotechnology. Each lecturer will present provocative, critical, and visionary talks on the state of the art in their academic and technological domains, and discuss the emerging paradigm changes made possible by their research and development work. All sessions will feature lively scientific dialogue and rigorous questioning by participants and audience members, including a post-lecture 'sweatbox' question-and-answer session. NSF and RECOMB travel awards are available for graduate students and postdoctoral fellows. Details about the events, which will be held from May 3-7, 2010, can be found at the Symposium webpage or email Lisa Manekofsky at ljm@cs.brown.edu

We look forward to your participation in our Symposium.

Sorin Istrail, Chair of the Symposium

Brown University CCMB Symposium, May 3-7, 2010
Co-organized with the Office of the President
Co-organized with the Department of Computer Science
Supported in part by the National Science Foundation


John von Neumann Distinguished Lecture Series
organized by Leon Cooper (Physics), Stuart Geman (Applied Mathematics), Sorin Istrail (Computer Science), Roberto Serrano (Economics)

Marina von Neumann Whitman, Professor of Business Administration and Public Policy, University of Michigan

Freeman Dyson, Professor Emeritus of Physics, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, NJ

John Conway, John von Neumann Professor of Mathematics, Princeton University

Kenneth Arrow, Nobel Laureate, Joan Kenney Professor of Economics and Professor of Operations Research Emeritus, Stanford University

Richard Karp, University Professor, University of California, Berkeley

David Mumford, University Professor, Department of Applied Mathematics, Brown University

Leon Cooper, Nobel Laureate, Thomas J. Watson Professor of Science and Director, Institute for Brain and Neural Systems, Brown University

George Dyson, historian of science, University of Washington, Seattle

Symposium: The Genome and the Computational Sciences: The Next Paradigms

Eric H. Davidson, Norman Chandler Professor of Cell Biology, California Institute of Technology

Andrew G. Clark, Jacob Gould Schurmn Professor of Population Genetics, Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics, Cornell University

J. Craig Venter, Founder, Chairman and President, J. Craig Venter Institute (not confirmed)

Ellen V. Rothenberg, Albert Billings Ruddock Professor of Biology, California Institute of Technology

Richard Lewontin, Alexander Agassiz Research Professor, Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard University

David Botstein, Anthony B. Evnin Professor of Genomics and Director, Lewis-Sigler Institute, Princeton University

Martin Meier-Schellersheim, Team Leader, Computational Biology Group, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, NIH

Sean Eddy, Group Leader, Janelia Farm, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Martha Bulyk, Associate Professor of Medicine and Pathology (and Health Sciences and Technology), Harvard Medical School

Jonathan W. Yewdell, Chief, Biology Section, Laboratory of Viral Diseases, National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, NIH

David Shaw, Ph.D., Chief Scientist and Founder, D.E. Shaw Research

Marcus Feldman, Ph.D., Professor of Biology, Stanford University

Sam Broder, Chief Medical Officer, Celera, Former Director of the National Cancer Institute
URL: http://www.brown.edu/Research/CCMB/Conferences/SYMPOSIUMMAY2010/info.htm

Contact Person: Lisa Manekofsky (ljm@cs.brown.edu)