Welcome to the ISCB Community News Blog

This blog collects news, announcements or other information which could be of interest to our ISCB members. We are a group ISCB members who volunteer to populate this blog on a regular basis. In case you want to become an "ISCB-News Reporter" yourself, let us know: contact ISCB
Don't repost copyrighted content! The guidelines are:
- Include a link to the source page
- Include a short summary about the article. You can quote up to ONE paragraph from the original story, but not more
- Don't repost an entire articles originating from another source
- Never post content without attribution — always include the source

To post a news, please use this form.

Monday, November 13, 2017

CFP Statistical and Machine Learning Modeling in Computational Epigenetics

Call for papers Special Issue on Statistical and Machine Learning Modeling
in Computational Epigenetics@BioMed Research International

Epigenetics has recently emerged as one of the hottest fields in life
sciences for studying heritable change in phenotype, gene function, or gene
expression that are not directly encoded in the DNA itself. Up-to-date
studies have shown that epigenetic modulations are fundamental in many
developmental processes, from tissue and organ formation to allele-specific
gene expression. When these normal epigenetic patterns modify, pattern of
gene expression can be deregulated, and it has been proven that such
mechanisms are central in several disorders and diseases, among which are
psychiatric disorders, obesity, and etiology of a number of diseases such
as cancer, schizophrenia, and Alzheimer, just to name a few. Today, thanks
also to several large human epigenome projects, scientists have a better
understanding of the basic principles of epigenetic mechanisms as well as
their relevance to health disorders and disease. At the heart of this
fascinating research field are computational tools that, by analyzing
complex genomic information, play an essential role in discovering
evidences to define new assessable hypotheses. In particular, the
literature at a glance shows the effectiveness of a combination of
statistical and machine learning techniques in several epigenetic analyses.
This special issue aims to host original papers and reviews on recent
research advances and the state-of-the-art methods in the fields of
statistical and machine learning methodologies and algorithm design for the
study of epigenetic mechanisms. Especially welcome are also software
systems with a special emphasis on tools developed with the help of big
data distributed processing framework like Hadoop and Spark to properly
manage the huge amount of data coming from epigenome-scale experiments.

Potential topics include but are not limited to the following:Machine
learning
Statistical learning theory
Fuzzy logic and systems
Neuro-fuzzy systems
Granular computing
Data mining
Probabilistic and statistical modelling
Algorithms designed for epigenomic big data
High-throughput data in the broad context of epigenomics
Analysis, modeling, and prediction of DNA methylation patterns
Analysis, modeling, and prediction of histone modifications in DNA sequences
Identification of abnormal DNA methylation within CpG islands in different
diseases
Analysis of epigenetic marks in stem cells
Analysis of miRNA changes in cancer and other diseases
Simultaneous analysis of methylome and transcriptome
Analysis of reciprocal regulation of noncoding RNA and methylation
Study of the epigenetic role in metabolomics
Analysis of microbiome role in epigenetic regulation of gene expression

Authors can submit their manuscripts through the Manuscript Tracking System
at https://mts.hindawi.com/submit/journals/bmri/computational.biology/acim/

Submission deadline:
Friday, 2 March 2018

Publication date:
July 2018
URL: http://www.hindawi.com/journals/BMRI/si/873738/cfp/

Contact Person: Antonino Staiano (antonino.staiano@uniparthenope.it)

Thursday, May 11, 2017

Pathview Web server published in NAR

The Pathview Web server was recently published in Nucleic Acids Research (NAR) Web Server issue:
https://academic.oup.com/nar/article-lookup/doi/10.1093/nar/gkx372

Pathview is an R/Bioconductor package for pathway based data integration and visualization. It maps and renders a wide variety of biological data on relevant pathway graphs.
http://bioconductor.org/packages/release/bioc/html/pathview.html

Pathview web server extends the core functions of Pathview with:
-a simple intuitive graphical user interface
-fast and programmatic access through RESTful API
-complete pathway analysis workflow supporting multiple omics data and integrated analysis
-interactive and hyperlinked results graphs for better data interpretation
-up-to-date pathway data via regular database synchronization
-open access to all analyses and resources
-analysis history and data sharing via free registered user accounts
-complete online help and documentation
-multiple quick-start example analyses

Pathview Web server: https://pathview.uncc.edu/
Please try it out and let us know if you have any comments/suggestions. Thank you!

URL: https://pathview.uncc.edu/

Contact Person: Weijun Luo (luo_weijun@yahoo.com)

Friday, March 17, 2017

60+ Organizations Join March for Science, Network of Satellite Marches Nears 400 Globally

WASHINGTON (Tuesday, March 14) - The March for Science is pleased to announce 63 additional partnering organizations today. Less than two months after the march was first announced, the number of partners now approaches 100 organizations, which includes global institutions, and ranges from scientific societies to unions.

New major partners include the Alliance for Science, American Federation of Teachers, American Public Health Association, American Physical Society, California Academy of Sciences, Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology, The Field Museum, Genetics Society of America, Phi Beta Kappa, Society for Neuroscience, and United Automobile, Aerospace, and Agricultural Implement Workers. Please see below for a full list of new partners and here for the complete list of all partners.

"This incredible show of support and interest in becoming partners reflects how important it is to recognize the critical role that science plays in all parts of society, and among different communities providing diverse services around the world," said Teon Brooks, Co-Director of Partnerships. "We look forward to collaborating with all of our partners and expanding our global network in the coming weeks ahead."

As a not-for-profit, volunteer-led effort, the March for Science relies on its network of enthusiastic and dedicated supporters to make the March happen. In celebration of Pi Day (3/14), March for Science supporters are encouraged to contribute $31.42 through the MFS donation page. Donor support is vital to the mission of the March for Science, and each contribution strengthens the movement's capacity to effectively advocate for the role of science in public life, and brings us closer to the funding total needed to execute the March in DC on April 22, 2017.

In addition to the growing number of partnering organizations, new marches are registered in cities around the world each day. Close to 400 marches and rallies in 37 countries are scheduled to take place on April 22. The March for Science represents an unprecedented gathering of people standing together to champion science that serves the common good, and the indispensable role it plays in our lives and communities.

Starting March 20th, the March for Science will release a series of videos centered around the common theme of "Science Serves". Jayde Lovell, Director of Film and Video for March for Science, spearheaded the development of this multimedia campaign. "Many people think of science as just lab coats and lectures. But science is deeply tied to our quality of life. Scientists test our air and water quality, monitor our children's health and make sure we have food on the table. When politicians push for deep budget cuts and try to censor researchers, they aren't just hurting the scientific community, they're hurting the communities and people science serves. These #ScienceServes videos will underscore what science does for our society and risks we face if scientists aren't allowed to serve the public interest."

Inquiries about volunteering, starting satellite marches and other topics can be directed to email addresses found on the organization's site.

List of each new partner with a press contact:

Academy Health
Alliance for Science - Sarah Evanega (allianceforsci@cornell.edu)
American Association of Geographers - Douglas Richardson (drichardson@aag.org)
American Association of Physical Anthropologists - Leslie Aiello (laiello@wennergren.org)
American Educational Research Association - Felice Levine (flevine@aera.net)
American Ethical Union - Bard Worden, Executive Director (bworden@aeu.org)
American Federation of Teachers - Alyssa Picard (apicard@aft.org)
American Geographical Society - John Kanarski (jkonarski@americangeo.org)
American Medical Student Association
American Psychological Association - Kim Mills (kmills@apa.org)
American Public Health Association - Susan Polan (susan.polan@apha.org)
American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene - Rhonda Schultz (rschultz@astmh.org)
American Sociological Association - Nancy Kidd (nkidd@asanet.org)
Animal Behavior Society - Bill Searcy (wsearcy@miami.edu)
Association for Science Teacher Education - Gillian Roehrig (roehr013@umn.edu)
Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education - Andrea Huggins (press@aashe.org)
Association of Environmental Engineering and Science Professors - Peter Vikesland (pvikes@vt.edu)
Association of Zoos and Aquariums - Rob Vernon (RVernon@aza.org)
Biophysical Society - Ellen Weiss (eweiss@biophysics.org)
Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists - Janice Sinclaire (jsinclaire@thebulletin.org)
California Academy of Sciences
Center for Science in the Public Interest - Jeff Cronin, (jcronin@cspinet.org)
Climate Museum - Miranda Massie (mmassie@cmlp.org)
Defenders of Wildlife - Jared Saylor (jsaylor@defenders.org)
Dock to Dish - Sean Barrett (docktodish@gmail.com)
Ecological Society of America - Katherine McCarter (KSM@esa.org)
European Association of Geochemistry - Marie-Aude Hulshoff (mahulshoff@eag.eu.com) Environmental Voter Project - Nathaniel Stinnett (nathaniel@environmentalvoter.org)
Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology - Howard Garrison (HGarrison@faseb.org)
The Field Museum - Jaclyn Johnston, media@fieldmuseum.org
Firefighters United for Safety, Ethics, and Ecology - Tim Ingalsbee (fire@efn.org)
Future of Research (FoR) - Gary McDowell (info@futureofresearch.org)
Futurism - Mike Grillo (mike@futurism.com)
Genetics Society of America - Cristy Gelling (cgelling@thegsajournals.org)
Girls Who Code - Claire Cook (claire@girlswhocode.com)
The Geological Society of America - (cstratton@geosociety.org)
International Society for Computational Biology - Nadine Kampman Costello (ncostello@iscb.org)
Island Press - Matt Solomon (msolomon@islandpress.org)
Linguistic Society of America - Alyson Reed (areed@lsadc.org)
Metropolitan Washington Ear
Monterey Bay Aquarium - Kyle Van Houten (kvanhoutan@mbayaq.org)
National Association of Geoscience Teachers - Erica Zweifel (ezweifel@carleton.edu)
National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE) - Ellen Levine (elevine@ncseglobal.org)
National Earth Science Teachers Association (NESTA) - Carla McAuliffe (Carla_McAuliffe@terc.edu)
National Society of Black Physicists - (headquarters@nsbp.org)
New York Hall of Science
The Oceanography Society (TOS) - Jenny Ramarui (jenny@tos.org)
The Optical Society - Liz Rogan (erogan@osa.org)
The Paleontological Society - Mary Droser (Mary.droser@ucr.edu)
Phi Beta Kappa - Jen Horneman (jhorneman@pbk.org)
Public Lab - Shannon Dosemagen (shannon@publiclab.org)
Religious Naturalist Association - Ursula Goodenough (goodenough@wustl.edu)
Scientists, Inc., home of the taste of science Festival - Parmvir Bahia (contact@scientistsinc.org)
SciStarter - Darlene Cavalier (Darlene@SciStarter.com)
Sense About Science USA -- Carey Reed (carey@sensci.org)
Society for Historical Archaeology
Society for Neuroscience - (MarchforScience@sfn.org)
Society for Social Work and Research
Society for the Psychological Study of Social Issues - Susan Dudley (sdudley@spssi.org)
Society for the Study of Evolution - (communications@evolutionsociety.org)
Steam 16 - Ron Livingston (livingstonrond@gmail.com)
United Automobile, Aerospace, and Agricultural Implement Workers (UAW) - (brothenberg@uaw.net)
United University Professions (UUP) -- SUNY - Mike Lisi (mlisi@uupmail.org)
URL: https://www.marchforscience.com/press/2017/3/13/60-organizations-join-march-for-science-network-of-satellite-marches-nears-400-globally-launching-scienceserves-videos

Contact Person: Nadine Costello (Ncostello@iscb.org)

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Visualising Biological Data (VIZBI 2017) - Conference

VIZBI 2017, the 8th international meeting on Visualizing Biological Data, will be held 14–16 June 2017 at the Charles Perkins Centre in Sydney, Australia, sponsored by The University of Sydney, The Garvan Institute of Medical Research, and Destination New South Wales.

VIZBI 2017 features keynotes from Daniel Keim, Tamara Munzner, and Drew Berry, in addition to talks from 18 world-leading researchers showcasing visualizations transforming how life scientists view data, and driving key advances in molecular biology, systems biology, biomedical science, and ecology.

The conference brings together a diverse community, including bioinformaticians, data scientists, computer scientists, and experimentalists, as well as medical illustrators, graphic designers, and graphic artists. VIZBI 2017 will be part of Vivid Sydney - a spectacular festival of light, music, and ideas - strong synergies between these events give extra incentive to make the trip to Sydney.

For more details, visit https://vizbi.org/2017
URL: https://vizbi.org/2017

Contact Person: Dr. Sean O'Donoghue / Dr. James Procter (contact@vizbi.org)